About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Automated Car Parking Management System

Automated Car Parking Management System

Lilongwe City Council is migrating from manual platforms to digitalization as one of the key reform areas. The digitalized systems are aimed at contributing towards effective and efficient delivery of services in the city. A number of areas have been earmarked for digitalization. One of the areas is Automated Car Park Management System. The automation of the car parking is intended to bring sanity in the City through effective management of car parking spaces for both off and On Street Parking spaces. Off Street Parking spaces are those with entry and exit points while On Street parking spaces are those on open spaces.

A team of Lilongwe City Council Officials is currently studying how automated car parking systems have been implemented in neighboring cities of Dares Salaam and Dodoma before full roll out of the system.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved