About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Lilongwe city clean up Initiative

There was the Lilongwe city clean up initiative held ar area 23. Led by minister of forestry and environment Hon Nancy Tembo MP, Councillor Juliana Kaduya Mayor of Lilongwe and various develoment partners.

Automated business premises licensing system

Automated business premises licensing system

As part of its reforms and in a drive to eliminate fraud in business  licensing,  improve  revenue  reconciliation  and accountability, Lilongwe City Council has now started issuing business licenses from the Automated Revenue Management Information System (ARMIS). This automated system came into operation…

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved