About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Construction of Lilongwe DEM’s Office in Area 3

Construction of Lilongwe DEM’s Office in Area 3

PROJECT PERIOD: 5th November 2020

PROJECT SPONSOR: Lilongwe City Council funds under DEM’s Office


The project focuses on extending the DEM’s office in area 3. The current office space could not cater for all the staff at the office. Therefore through Lilongwe City Council funds under the DEM’s office, the council has opted to extend the current office.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved