About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

LCC automates Market Fee Collection

LCC automates Market Fee Collection

Lilongwe City Council is proud to announce the launch of Automated Market Fees Collection System.

Launched on September 2, the system will replace the manual and semi-automatic collection service.

The new service has gone live in 34 markets under LCC’s jurisdiction. It will use Point of Sale devices provided by NITEL.

“The new system will help to curb fraud and corruption and enhance revenue reconciliation,” said the Council.

With the new system, LCC has now gained the ability for daily revenue aggregation and tallying; knowing how much has been collected per day for each market and how much each revenue collector has secured.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved