About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Lilongwe City Council Public Notice on Illegal Dumping

Lilongwe City Council Public Notice on Illegal Dumping

Following the circulation on social media of a video clip showing vehicle registration number NU 4099 dumping solid waste on an undesignated open ground near Likuni roundabout on Friday morning of 31 July 2020, the Lilongwe City Council tracked the owner of the vehicle. He has been fined K200,000 and has been deregistered as a private waste operator by the Council.  

The Lilongwe City Council appeals to all private waste operators and the general public to desist from illegal dumping of waste on any open land. Let us work together to keep our surroundings and our city clean and green.

The Lilongwe City Council would like to thank the whistleblower on this incident for being patriotic to expose  the unbecoming practice.

For tips and any reports please contact us at info@lcc.mw  or call our toll free line 346.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved