About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Progress of Reform Areas for Q1 against overall target (2022)

Progress of Reform Areas for Q1 against overall target (2022)

Lilongwe City Council would like to update the citizen of Lilongwe City and other stakeholders on Reform Areas for Q1 against overall target (2022). There are five reform areas on the heart of the council to achieve and these are:

Enhance Financial Sustainability.

Digitization of operations and some services.

Enhance Public Private Partnership.

Restructure and Re-brand LCC into modern organization.

Enhance City Road Network.

Click download below to view Reforms performance

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved