About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Briefing the media about Lilongwe City Summit

Briefing the media about Lilongwe City Summit

Lilongwe City is geared to host its first ever City Summit on 15 March ,2023 at the Bingu International Convention Centre (BICC). The Summit will be held under the theme: My City My Responsibility, Together Building the City We Want (Mzinda Wanga Udindo Wanga Pamodzi Kumanga Mzinda Wamakono). This initiative is in line with the Malawi Vision 2063 of an inclusively wealthy and self-reliant nation. Briefing the media earlier today the City Fathers said that the City Summit has been planned to be high level participated and that it will offer opportunities to various stakeholders including city residents to extensively discuss and offer solutions that will uplift the city status. Lilongwe City Council believes that it is its responsibility to work together with your various stakeholders in enhancing a safe, secure, and habitable environment for the citizenry.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved