About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info



The Lilongwe City Council (the council) would like to inform all users of the Lilongwe Central Market, and the general public, that it will close the Central Market car park effective 1st January, 2021. The Council will be carrying out maintenance works of the car park area during this period of closure.

Alternative parking areas are available behind the Central Market opposite Mogasa, at Tikambe along the Malangalanga road opposite Chidzanja City Council Office or parking their vehicles along the U-Save- K99 parking corridor at old town.

The car park will be closed for a period of 4 weeks.

Lilongwe City Council regrets any inconvenience that may be caused due to the closure of the car park.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved