About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Launch of the road grading program for Lilongwe City South West Constituency

Launch of the road grading program for Lilongwe City South West Constituency

1st June, 2021 Lilongwe City Mayor, Her Worship Councillor Juliana Kaduya who was joined by Honorable Nancy Tembo MP and Councillor for Kawale 1 Ward Chipiliro Phambala at the launch of the road grading program for Lilongwe CitySouth West constituency.The road grading program will target roads that are in poor condition in all 4 constituencies in the city and is expected to run for 18 days.Lilongwe City Council intends to further upgrade earth roads in the city to bitumen standard in the near future.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved