About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Temporary Fire Emergency contact numbers

Temporary Fire Emergency contact numbers

Lilongwe City Council is informing the general public that all our fire emergency numbers are out of reach due to cable vandalism at area 3 and area 4. Currently no calls can be connected through our emergency numbers.

Therefore, the general public is being advised to use the following provisional numbers until MTL rectifies the problem.

Director of Engineering Services:

  • 0888343837/0995618006

Fire Section

  • 0993322375 / 0885087622
  • 0884020974
  • 0991652007 / 0887192138
  • 0997355380 / 0885727662
  • 0888396291 / 0995063153

Eliam Chinkhokwe Banda


Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved