About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Postponement of the Lilongwe City Summit

Postponement of the Lilongwe City Summit

Lilongwe City Council wishes to inform partners, citizens and stakeholders that due to some technical challenges beyond our control, the Lilongwe City Summit which was scheduled for Tuesday the 23rd May, 2023 has been moved to Wednesday 24th May, 2023. The start time of the Summit and venue still remain unchanged. Lilongwe City Council deeply regrets any inconvenience caused by this sudden change.

Source: Public Relations Office, Lilongwe City Council.

Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved