About Us

The Lilongwe City Council was established under the Local Government Act No. 42 of 1998 as a body corporate. The Council comprises the Political and Administrative arms which both derive their authority from the Local Government Act of 1998. The Political  arm is led by the Mayor who is an elected councillor. The mayor is in charge of 27 Wards each overseen by an elected Councillor.  In addition, there are four (4) elected Members of Parliament who represent the Lilongwe urban sector. There are also five (5)  ex-official members representing interest groups. The Administrative arm of Lilongwe City Council is led by the Chief Executive Officer who oversees nine (9) technical departments and devolved sectors, including Commerce & Trade, Engineering, Education, Youth & Sports Sector, Parks & Recreation, Health and Social Welfare Services, Planning & Development and Finance.

Contact Info

Press Release

In a bid to improve communication between Lilongwe city council (LCC) and ratepayers in the city, Lilongwe city council is requesting you to send the following important details:

  1. Your name
  2. Name of your business or property
  3. Plot number
  4. Contact details we can easily reach you

Kindly Email this information  to : info@lcc.mw   and  copy to frank.simwaka@lcc.mw  or make your submission at  our civic offices city center , room number 103.

Lilongwe city council would like to update its records so that it can serve you better.

The closing date for this exercise is 30th June, 2021.

Eliam C. Banda


Lilongwe City Council

Subscribe Newsletter

Sign up for our latest news & articles. We won’t give you spam mails.

© 2020 Lilongwe City Council. All Rights Reserved